Breeds - Pounds of feed to pounds of gain

Help Support CattleToday:

WAguy, again Im no expert, but I would say that those 2 calves weigh pretty much the same. The holsteins have bigger frame, just look at their hind legs/ which is prabably the heaviest part of the animal/carcass. the black calf has almost all the holstein bred out of it with a cross mother and angus sire.It is typical around here to breed the holstein heifers to angus and you get real nice hindquarters out of those calves. I think price is the difference, I know it was for me, I could buy 10 holsteins for approx the same price of 6 beef type calves the same weight. I beleive that the beef type will do better on grass/pasture alone at the smaller size as far as avg. daily gain, but with the price difference you can get pretty aggressive with a supplemental feed program and have pretty good results and still have a good profit margin IF your willing to think outside the box. I am only talking about a small operation as I have NO knowledge of feedlots. Another reason is the fact that bottle calves will die on you quicker than a cat can lick its hind end and if your only raising a few head that can/will make the difference between making money/breaking even/losing money. Therefore in my opinion a good nurse cow is worth her weight in gold/feed/milk replacer. Just a few of my observations, sorry to be so long winded, Im speaking in general on all these subjects as nothing is set in stone. This is a very controversial subject on here [holstein vs beef breeds] so keep that in mind or you will stir up a hornets nest, I probably already have.

newrancher":1cydgme0 said: