Bottle feeding

Help Support CattleToday:

Peye

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am new to this wonderful forum. I am also new with cattle. Maybe you could clarify this for me?

When do I have to stop bottle feeding a calf?

Thanks for all your help :D

Well I am far from an expert, but I've had a little experience with bottle feeding.

Now do you mean bottle to bucket or bottle to grain?

If it's bottle to bucket (pour the milk in the bucket and let him drink from there) I say as soon as you are able to get him to it.

I've always had a little grain there to offer for him to sample although they just seem to play with it at first (and that's ok)

If I remember correctly, we tried to wean from milk around 3-4 months, but our last one that we purchased, they were still giving him milk replacer at 6 or 7 months old. I stopped that quickly once he was here.

There are many more people here more qualified than I, but I hope I gave you some helpful information. It's just what we do, not necessarily the right thing to do.

Thank you cowgirl!

They are 3 months old and they already eat grain and grass. I started with 3 bottles a day, then I cut to two.

Once I saw mine were eating grain, I slowly gave less milk (2 down to 1 bottle) and then even weaker milk (more water than replacer) all the while giving them free-choice hay, pasture and increased grain.

3 months old and already on grain and grass, go ahead and wean them. your on 3 bottles a day? tomarrow go to 2 and then like 2 days later 1 and then none.

Peye":2hysbckn said:
Hi everybody,

I am new to this wonderful forum. I am also new with cattle. Maybe you could clarify this for me?

When do I have to stop bottle feeding a calf?

Thanks for all your help :D