Bottle Calf Idea.... Would like opinions:)

Help Support CattleToday:

Belties R Us

Reaction score
Ok guys. I am an animal science major who is trying to figure out what part of the animal science industry I want to be in.

Anyway I had an idea I am debating trying out this summer. Instead of getting a business job, I wanted to buy and raise some bottle calves. This will give me the hands on experience to figure out if I want to be involved full time in production ag or if it will be more of a hobby. It will also give me the ability to be home to work with my show calves more than usual, get their hair worked and all. Anyway I was planning on buying a group of ten calves in May and then they would sell in August. Ideally I would find 4-H or FFA kids to show them and then sell there as they get a premium or they would be taken to an auction. My biggest concern is that I have never done this before. And there is probably a lot to learn. I am estimating my buying price to be $150, and my target selling weight around 400lbs. My total cost including milk replacer and feed to be around $400. Selling price approx $150/cwt. Which would put my estimated profit at $2000 for ten calves. But from everything I have read people say it is not profitable. What am I missing? I do understand that they have a high death rate. I am hoping to find a producer to buy from but I haven't had luck locating one who doesn't just take them to auction. We do have other beef cattle so I am working on figuring out how to keep them quarantined from the rest of ours using the existing facilities.

Anyway that is just an idea I had. Would love to hear thoughts, opinions, potential issues, etc so I can best figure out how to make this has successful as possible. Thanks:)