Birth Weight

Help Support CattleToday:

MissouriExile

Reaction score
I sold a registered bull yearling recently that I had bought as part of a cow calf pair.
I received the papers in the mail and (I'm new to the business) only read them briefly.
The buyer, however, read the papers carefully. He saw that the bull calf had a listed birth weight of 53 lbs.

He was impressed. I found it hard to believe. Is that low of a birth weight common?
Couldn't that low of a birth weight be a negative indicator?

I suppose the breed is significant here, it is Angus.

Do breeders of registered cattle carefully weigh calves just after they are born?

How much can the weights be trusted?

Jon

As long as the BW is low and the WW and YW are acceptable, I see no problem with a low BW.
If the low BW carrys through to low WW and YW then it would be a negative. I suppose the environemtn the calves are born in and the time of year could also have a bearing. If I was calving in the cold nasty north I would want something heavier for the simple reason that the more mass would be easier to keep warm.
The last part is the tricky one. Some breeders are scrupulous in getting accuarte weights, others not so much. You can trust the numbers as much as you can trust the breeder.

Unless they've changed them this year, American Angus registration papers do not show actual birth weights. Is he, perhaps, looking at the weaning weight EPD? 53 pounds there is good. Breed average is about 40,