better service

Help Support CattleToday:

dixie78

Reaction score
As a veterinarian I am constantly looking for better ways to serve my clients, being a new member here I was wondering if you would give me your input. What more would you like your vet to be doing for you to aid in your animals' health? New technology, procedures, etc. Thanks.

don't be afraid to offer advice. when we moved here from pa., didn't know about fescue & vet i had would treat some animals but never said what we should have done. had to find out for myself as usual. and don't always try to sell some new drug when a cheaper one will do the same thing. it doesn't impress anyone. we are just trying to make a living doing what we like. needless to say i wouldn't use that vet again for anything.

The best vet is the one that tells you when it is time to cut your losses. Sews up the prolaspe and tells you to haul her to the sale barn because she will do it again.

Don't do things just because the client asks for it. Our vet will always give you the economic justification for any procedure prior to undertaking it. For example a few yrs back I was having many health issues as it was severe drought & health issues had taken a toll in animal loses. I had a ~4 month old calf go down & I wanted him to see it & fix it - I nearly insisted. He said he could do nothing & to bring it to the state animal heath clinic to have a necropsy performer - result blackleg. I had an animal without an anus - thought that an operation would be justified to get a live calf that would later bring $600. He said he could do it, but that other health issues would arise & would recommend against it. So a valued vet is one that is not looking to make bucks but help his clients make informed decisions - I am thankful we such a person, despite the fact that he is an hour's drive away (there are some closer, but need I say more?).