beef cow with mastitis....what can i do for her today?

Help Support CattleToday:

raykour

Reaction score
I have a beef cow that seems to have mastitis. She calved on Thursday. She has general malaise and walks like her udder might hurt and kicks at it every once in awhile. She allows the calf to nurse all 4 quarters but one quarter looks larger and harder than the others and she just lays down while the calf is trying to nurse too. Her appetite isn't great but it is there. What can I do for her today? Being a beef producer I don't typically keep around the mastitis infusions....I keep around Draxxin, banamine, etc. Guess I will from now on. All vet supply stores are closed today.

raykour":2vlqheax said:
I have a beef cow that seems to have mastitis. She calved on Thursday. She has general malaise and walks like her udder might hurt and kicks at it every once in awhile. She allows the calf to nurse all 4 quarters but one quarter looks larger and harder than the others and she just lays down while the calf is trying to nurse too. Her appetite isn't great but it is there. What can I do for her today? Being a beef producer I don't typically keep around the mastitis infusions....I keep around Draxxin, banamine, etc. Guess I will from now on. All vet supply stores are closed today.

Have you tried to strip out the quarter , it is red inflamed and hot to the touch ?

A shot of draxxin and banamine isn't going to hurt her so go ahead and give her that . Also take a temp. If is is indeed mastitis you can get a product form your vet that goes right into the teat , I always used Special Formula , you strip the quarter twice a day and each time infuse it with the product as well as treating her with meds .

The quarter isn't red but it is larger and dripping milk. The calf doesn't seem interested in sucking it too long despite the fact it is full....maybe 2 sucks then he moves on.