Baby calves can i make it work

Help Support CattleToday:

dbro

Reaction score
I am brand new to this sight and have never involved myself much with the online forums but the first post i read was on the small acreage owner and it was as if it was made for me so thanks for the information i think i saved it to my computer so if I did maybe I will be able to find it again. Anyway my hope for my families small place is to try the baby calves and raise them in hutches until weaned and then turn them out in a 5 acre pasture or possibly group pen them in a small fenced area and feed. My questions are is this a losing battle financially, if not then can someone give me a map of the proper process to do this right for quality healthy animals and proper food stuffs where a profit can be made.

If you are buying a quality milk replacer and feeding it, you are going to be hard pressed to make a profit. Then you have to consider your time. That in itself is why dairy calves are so cheap. They are getting dumped.

If you have no experience at this, you can end up with extremely sick or dead calves. Some people end up spending a fortune on vet bills.

Nurse cows, proper facilities, and being prepared (with prescription medications) can make money.

A good mentor to show you the ropes would be the best thing. Someone who can take a temp of a calf and diagnose problems - nip it in the bud.

You'd get a variety on opinions on this board.

Can you make money? Sure you can but don't expect to get rich. Good quality Holstein calves go for $150-$200 a peice. They keep going up to.

I am still researching the logistics but using a nurse cow is looking pretty appealing. Would y'all agree?

Very appealling. They do all the work. You just sit back and watch the calves grow. You might want a bit more land though because you'll be feeding the cows as well.