Aubrac or braunvieh?

Help Support CattleToday:

trin

Reaction score
Pros and cons between braunvieh and aubracs? Anyone compared or had both breeds.

While Braunvieh's are good cattle and more well known of the two, I believe Aubracs are better muscling, thicker, easier calving, more thrifty, have a more moderate frame score, and hardier. Braunvieh's are typically larger (frame) and mature later than Aubracs. Both milk well. Aubracs are typically more efficient at feed conversion (to milk and muscle). The Braunvieh breed association appears to be more organized and more people breed them.

While I see that Braunvieh's have scored well in various carcass tests, I have no experience with actually eating fullblood Braunvieh beef. I can tell you is we're pre-sold out of our production for the next two years already -- fullblood Aubrac beef is good eatin'.

I can't speak about their temperament, but I can say that Aubrac breeders have (and continue to) cull any attitude problem. As a result, the temperament of the Aubracs are, generally, quite good. We can pet our bull and he won't even look up from grazing.

Like comparing any two breeds, the best cattle in either breed are going to be exceptional cattle, period. The worst cattle in either breed should have been slaughtered last week. So, no matter which breed you go with, look for exceptional animals to use in your breeding program.

Good luck, and LMK if you have any questions about Aubracs. I'm happy to help as I might.