Am I Crazy????

Help Support CattleToday:

BigBear56

Reaction score
So I'm a total novice when it comes to AI. I found a gentleman that will board cows and AI them to a bull of your choosing, them blood test to confirm pregnancy. Similar to what folks do with horses. Eventually I may get to the point where I will go through the process myself but to get started I would prefer to go this route. IMO this heifer is the best one we've had yet. I know I want to breed for primarily maternal traits as I build my herd. This heifer is 7 months old and I would plan to breed her at 13-14 months. She's been penned up (as you can tell by the hay belly). Is she something worth spending the money on to AI? Where does she need help? Please be nice lol

She's a pretty nice looking heifer from those pics. I'd love to see a more natural picture of her so I could evaluate her a little better.

You haven't told us a breed, or pedigree or really any information about the heifer or your goals. So its kinda hard to make any reccomendations.

WinterSpringsFarm said:
She's a pretty nice looking heifer from those pics. I'd love to see a more natural picture of her so I could evaluate her a little better.

You haven't told us a breed, or pedigree or really any information about the heifer or your goals. So its kinda hard to make any reccomendations.

Yeah I forgot to mention that. She's 1/2 reg Red Angus 1/2 reg Black Angus. I started my small herd around her dam. Below left. Her dam is out of a Leachman bull (have to look at the paperwork to tell you exactly). My goals are to improve maternal characteristics. Her dam is flighty but not aggressive and is a poor milker imo. I think she needs some help with bone and hair as well but 1 step at a time lol. I have my eye on Musgrave Redemption but is acc is low. A lot can happen between now and this heifer turning 13 months so we will have to see what happens with his numbers.