AI- Buy Equipment or Hire Tech

Help Support CattleToday:

lovehammer

Reaction score
I have 10 black brangus heifers I would like to AI in April of next year. They will be about 22-24 months old then. I AI'd dairy cattle when I was in high school ag class some 26-27 years ago (jeez, I'm getting old...) and have not done it since. I am by no means an expert or experienced in AI.

Given that tidbit of info, would it make sense to buy a semen tank, gun, and all of the other gear to AI myself? Online shopping tells me the cost is somewhere around $1000-$1200 dollars for a bare bones AI setup. Does that price sound right to you all?

What about hiring a tech? The cost seems to be about $100 a pop, so the cost difference is minimal. Does that price sound reasonable? I sort of like the notion of buying the tools and doing it myself, but I don't want to fool myself into thinking I'm saving myself money and end up with no pregnant heifers. I don't want to pay the stupid tax again.

Should I bit the bullet and buy a bull? The fellow I bought my heifers from will sell me a yearling brangus bull for $1400. He is a quality cattle breeder, sells better stock as replacements and sends the rest to feedlots or the sale barn. His bulls look good to me and he has been very helpful. Followed up with phone calls after the sale of the animals to make sure I was happy, that kind of thing. In other words, he's a good guy and I trust him. Is is worth keeping a bull around for 10 cows?

Is there something I'm missing? Does AI make sense for a small timer like me?

Check with your local semen/nitrogen route guy about a used tank, that wiould drop the price some. For a small producer AI makes more sense then a bull. If you did much AIing in the past it's a lot like riding a bike. The first time after a long layoff things will be hard to figure out, by the second or third it should all come back to you.