2 week old bottle heifer with diarrhea

Help Support CattleToday:

kzieschang

Reaction score
Can .someone pls help me I'm new to cattle and I got a 2 week old jersey heifer last night. On our way home she had diarrhea once.we were told not to feed her that night and to feed her in the morning.this morning I gave her 3/4 of a bottle of suckle then she had a small bit of yellow diarrhea with mostly blood/mucus in it.she has gone to the bathroom a few more times now with no blood but it's still yellow diarrhea..any help will be appreciated as we are new to cattle and are unsure what to do for Her

Read that link up above......bottle calves for newbies. I have never done them, but maybe on of the folks that do will chime in soon for you.

Get some electrolytes from your local feed store or vet.
It's common that the stress from transporting a calf will bring on scours.
We give all purchased calves electrolytes on arrival for their first feeding.
You want to get ahead of it because scours will dehydrate a calf very quickly and replenishing lost fluids is essential.

Better a little hungry then too full. Most milk replacer directions are based on a 100 lb Holstein calf. Her being smaller 3/4 bottle may be adequate. But that is with a minimum of 20% fat 20% protein from milk and milk byproducts, NO SOY. A lot of scours is caused by sanitation, or the lack of it. The bottles have to be really well cleaned between feedings, no left over residues. About every 3-4 feedings we rinsed them with bleach (clorine) water