A.I question

Help Support CattleToday:

TB521

Reaction score
This is my first time trying to AI I took a class 2 weeks ago. I have a cow that was standing at 1:00 when I got home from work. I could breed her at 8:00 pm or 2:30 am before I go to work what should I do

Yes I would go for tonight to get one in the bank so to speak and if things didn't work out you have time rest, relax, sleep on it and nail her the following morning. When starting off with AI just don't put pressure on yourself, be organised and in control of things.

Ken

I am a little late reading your post, but congrads on your first AI. I have found that the earlier I breed in the cycle, the easier it is to get through the cervix. Hope she settles so you can look forward to your first AI calf. It may seem like a very long pregnancy.

I have another question when I was synchronizing my cows I forgot to give one GnRH so I just gave her 2 shots of lute 7 days apart and she still hasn't came into heat tomorrow will be 72 hours after 2nd shot can I AI her and give her GnRH if she's not in heat or just start over with GnRH

:mrgreen:
TB521 said:
I have another question when I was synchronizing my cows I forgot to give one GnRH so I just gave her 2 shots of lute 7 days apart and she still hasn't came into heat tomorrow will be 72 hours after 2nd shot can I AI her and give her GnRH if she's not in heat or just start over with GnRH

I am very very far from an expert, and shouldn't even be commenting.
I did very similar to what your saying, I watched heats a month before and recorded them. A few cows I screwed around and missed their heat, so 10-12 days later I gave a shot of lute. It took some of them up to 5 days to come in. Majority seemed to be 72-96 hours.

This is my first year doing my own ai work also. (Hired it done for the last 10 years)