Work off-farm?

Help Support CattleToday:

bandit80

Reaction score
Just curious how many of the people on here have cattle and work off the farm. (So we can live!) If you do, list your "day job" occupation.

I run 45 head of beef cows, most of which are registered stock, retain my own heifers, and sell bulls through a regional group. Most cows are Balancers, with a few purebred Gelbvieh and Angus. I am also a loan officer at a community bank. :cboy:

bandit80":1sbo9r2b said:
Just curious how many of the people on here have cattle and work off the farm. (So we can live!) If you do, list your "day job" occupation.

I run 45 head of beef cows, most of which are registered stock, retain my own heifers, and sell bulls through a regional group. Most cows are Balancers, with a few purebred Gelbvieh and Angus. I am also a loan officer at a community bank. :cboy:

Ah haa....now I know how you got the name "bandit". :lol2: :lol2: :lol2: I too was a banker for 18 years then had to get a job. :cry2: :cry2: Now I'm semi retired and do some consulting.

TexasBred":1a324iz5 said:
bandit80":1a324iz5 said:

Ah haa....now I know how you got the name "bandit". :lol2: :lol2: :lol2: I too was a banker for 18 years then had to get a job. :cry2: :cry2: Now I'm semi retired and do some consulting.

Never thought of it that way, but that does work!! More along the lines of Smokey and the Bandit. Great movies.

Good thing my boss doesn't read cattle boards!! But I get my work done. :D

never had an off farm job. grew up in the dairy business.then got tired of fighting low milk prices an soldout 8yrs ago.now run crossbred cows an building a reg beefmaster herd.

I graduated college a little over a year ago. I have had a small herd of Registered Angus cows since 2003, before that was commercial. But I work as an office manager at a gravel quarry for my day job to support my cattle habit :D . I also am doing some commercial construction management training at night and on the weekends.