Vaccination Recommendations

Help Support CattleToday:

ChipC

Reaction score
I've got a 6 month old bull calf and a 3 month old heifer calf that I have never given a vaccination or dewormer. I'm planning on working my cows next month and was hoping somebody could give me a recommendation on what vaccinations I should use. I've researched a little on the internet, but I've found a million different recommendations. I am considering a 7 way vaccination and some pour on ivomec. I also was wondering what, if anything, I should give my adult cows (2 yrs old+)? Should I worry about vaccines for them too? Or just do the dewormer?

This probably goes without mentioning, but I am very new at this. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

Personally I do the following:
Cows 4 Weeks Prior to Calving: Elite 9 / Covexin 8 / MultiMin 90 / Ivomec (alternate with "Longrange" every other year. Different active ingredients)
Calves at Birth: Benefit from mothers Vaccination. I don't give anything additional. Always had good results!
3 Months Old: Elite 9 / Covexin 8 / MultiMin 90
Weaning Boosters: Elite 9 / Covexin 8 / Ivomec (heifers get an additional dose of MultiMin 90)
I don't run any bulls. I keep steers for locker beef and they get a dose of MultiMin 90 at 12 months.
When I run my cows thru the Chute to start syncing them for AI (60 days after calving) I give them a booster of MultiMin 90.

I used to give MUSE in place of MultiMin 90, but recently switched for the added base minerals included.

That's what has worked for me. I would recommend visiting with others in your area and/or a vet to see what best suites the cattle for your area, Mineral content and certain diseases. Took me a couple years to get a good system down that worked well for me, but have been happy with my results. you will get there! Good Luck!