Time for a new bull

Help Support CattleToday:

mnbryant2001

Reaction score
Replacing my Charolais with Angus this year. I'm new to buying a bull. I don't know any numbers yet. The owner wasn't home but invited me to go look. Sorry for the poor pic. I took it for the tag. Wish I had thought of posting then. He is 14 months. He isn't as muscled as the 14 month "New Bull" post here I looked at. A little thinner across the rear. Not a lot of difference otherwise. I didn't know how muscled they should be at that age. Or after a hard Mississippi winter.

http://ranchers.net/photopost/showphoto ... puser/5839

His condition is fine. Don't stop feeding him right when you get him home. At that age he needs good groceries till turnout. Did they do a BSE on him?

I don't know all the specifics yet in his health checks. I know I'll have to take his him a soundness test. The seller will pay though. It will be Sunday before we can get into the details. He is working 6 days a week at his off farm job at the moment.

Thanks for the thoughts on him. I've only seen steers at this age. And his slightly femine appearance was a concern since I have no real idea when he should loose the calf look.

And I don't have any other photos. Two are for sake. I snapped this only to remember the number.

Each breed is different on how muscled or developed, along with different individual bulls. Here is a pic of one of our bulls, at 12 months of age (just taken last month).

IMG_2451_s.jpg