The smallest calf!

Help Support CattleToday:

mmurrey2

Reaction score
Hi- I am new to pposting on this forum, I usually just read the post that everyone else has posted. Well I thought that I'd share this with all. We had a calf yesterday and to our surprise she is the smallest calf we have ever seen. She is only 18lbs., yes to all that had to read that twice it is not a typo error. She actually weighs that much(or little). I have brought her into the house because she wasn't nursing, well she couldn't even reach the udder. The momma is not a first time heifer but she did have a miscarriage last time around. I am bottle feeding her but I do have a question how much should she eat? I don't know if she is getting enough or not. She has taking about 1 1/2 pints in a 12 hour time frame. She is stading ,mooing ,walking just like all calves but she is just so tiny. Thanks ahead for any advice.

You have given colostrum?

And good luck! Most cows have plops that weigh more than that!

Very interested to see how you make out.( There are a few of us looking into a lap cow venture, we may have a place for you if this calf works out ). :lol:

1 and 1/2 to 2 pints in the 12 hour time frame should be okay for a calf that size. As long as she isn't sick, she will consume as much as she is hungry for.

That is one tiny little baby! Good luck with her. The smallest I've had here was approx. 35 lbs born a month early and only lived for 6 days. The next smallest was last year, at a whopping 45 lbs and caught up and grew off as well as his peers.

Katherine

Yes she has gotten colostrum and still is recieving it. I have a friend who has a dairy farm so all the colostrum or milk I need I get it. She is a black angus cross with limosine. She is still alive and so far still eating. :D Well I'll kepp you updated on how she is doing. AngusLimoX, I might take you up on the offer for lap cows, Just think lap cows in every home...LOL
Mellissa

mmurrey2":332lepx4 said: