steer?/heifer?

Help Support CattleToday:

cowgirl13

Reaction score
what are the pros and cons of showin a heifer and pros and cons of showin a steer? and im talkin beef cattle here in texas

Steers You Raise Until Market Time Then They Go Off Into Some One's Freezer
Heifers Can Be Kept As Replacements And Stay Around

This is my first year showing I choosed a heifer so I can have her around for a while also in my opionion why show a steer and take 1st then eat it you cant get its genetics but showing a steer has it pros to like selling at a good price per lbs. and Im sure it still is great to take 1st even showin a steer

cowgirl13":xajwmllf said:
what are the pros and cons of showin a heifer and pros and cons of showin a steer? and im talkin beef cattle here in texas

IMO Money is the major pros and con. if you can get a easy fleshing, hard doin, hefier then go with a hefier. she will eat about a 1/4 of what a steer will eat a day but look good. and her ration can not always but sometimes cost alot less.A Steer on the other hand is a good project if you what to show and then sell and not stay in the cow business the whole year. Plus u can either sell the meat to a sponser or the local meat locker or you can eat the steer. For example with Market goat if you show it all year then send it to market at the end of the year and your r done, but if you show a diary goat you have it 24/7 365. so it all depends on how much money your willing to spend, how much time ect.. Oh and one good thing about showing steers your dont have to worry about them going into heat, ect...hope that helped :D 8) 8)

so if i was just gonna have one and that was all wich would be better. money wise.

cowgirl13":3aj5j52o said:
so if i was just gonna have one and that was all wich would be better. money wise.