Soil Conservation offered to buy 1/2 of my no til drill

Help Support CattleToday:

millstreaminn

Reaction score
I bought a new no till drill this spring instead of renting the one the county owns. I saw the soil conservation officer on the street the other day and he asked me if I wanted to rent their drill again this year. I told him no, I bought my own. He said the county would pay for 1/2 the cost of my drill (tax credits) if I signed my farm up for one of their conservation programs. He said they would come down, map my farm and "help" me decide what I could plant and where. I told him, "Um- no thanks."

I told him as a hobby farmer, I only plan to no till about 4 acres a year. I hardly qualify as a full time farmer. He said it didn't matter, any no till drill owner qualifies. I can't believe the amount of money the govt will spend to have control over your land.

Between my Father and I we have participated in cost sharing conservation programs since 1958 . The conservation practices consisted of bulldozing and deep plowing mesquite, preparing a seed bed to plant permanent grass, constructing tanks for water, cross fencing , running water lines , water troughs, drilling water wells with pumping unit.
There has never been any strings attached with the agreement or any thing in the paper work that says they will have control of my property. I would never sign anything that puts the Gov. In control of my property. Our Ranch has been family owned since 1880 with plans to keep it family owned.
Also I am Board Member of the County SWCD and would not participate in programs that would jeopardize the rights of landowners.