Should I switch from Charolais Bulls ?

Help Support CattleToday:

Double J Cattle

Reaction score
I have been using Charolais Bulls on my commercial cows for about three years now and I was wondering if I should get a younger of the same, or go to Hereford or Angus. With the cows I have, any of the three would work. Is it just me or did the Charolais calves go out of style with the buyers ?

If Charolais are working for you why change. If the bull is covering all the bases except color I wouldn't worry about it.
The weaning weight of them charolais calves will pay off in the sale barn, and nice big females won't go out of style..let the buyers cross them with what they want!

A good yellow calf will sale within a few cents of the blacks and for the most part will outweigh them so net dollars are about equal. If Charolais work for you, why change?

If you don't have a strong preference, I would talk to my buyers. If the calves just go down to the auction barn, there are usually just a few order buyer guys that sit on the front row together and buy half the cattle week after week. I have never found those guys to be particularly unfriendly if you have some direct business related questions. Some barns REALLY favor the Black calves and some don't. If you THINK you are getting a price dock at your market, I don't have enough information to say that is not the case. I tend too want to say go with the Hereford and then come back with the Angus in 3-5 years; but I have not seen your cows, do not know your ranch conditions, and I know nothing about your goals or your market conditions so I am reluctant to make any suggestion.