Santa Gertrudis + / -

Help Support CattleToday:

Scat_Right

Reaction score
I am new to the cattle business, and need a bull for my small herd. Have a lady near buy that has a pasture full of Santa Gertrudis and I am envious.

I need to know the good and the bad about this breed. Can anyone help?

My dream is to have 30 - 40 head of these beautiful red cows.

Let me know if I'm crazy.

Thanks,

Scat

When I was young, my grandpa had a Gert. bull. That' the only experience I've had with em. Lots of folks here that can offer better advice than I could anyway. Good luck. :cboy:

well most gerts have too much hide & too framey if i used gerts cows i would use something like hereford or gelbvieh bulls they make a pretty decent calf. gert cows are good momas good milkers. but have got a attitude. and will check your back pockets when you get around them babies like brangus. too me those two are the worst of the bra influance with the temperment from my experiance.

ALACOWMAN":8jmjtwet said:
well most gerts have too much hide & too framey if i used gerts cows i would use something like hereford or gelbvieh bulls they make a pretty decent calf. gert cows are good momas good milkers. but have got a attitude. and will check your back pockets when you get around them babies like brangus. too me those two are the worst of the bra influance with the temperment from my experiance.

Differences in experiences. I've found the gerts to be among the calmest of the Brahman influenced cattle. They make a spectacular cross with Angus, either color. Only problem I've ever had with them was calf stealing. Just work them slow and easy and they're pretty easy to handle. It was working gerts and gert crosses that taught me that yahoo and hurry don;t work

dun

they can definitely be testy and some have fertility issues.

other than that they make great mothers.