Rotational grazing

Help Support CattleToday:

Central Fl Cracker

Reaction score
Okay keep in my mind I am new in the cattle biz..
I recently moved 50 cows and 3 bulls to a 135 ac. pasture I own. Before I moved them I crossed fence the pasture into + or - 30 ac. paddocks. They have been on one of these paddocks for a week and I will be Damned if they have not come close to grazing the whole 30 ac. they seem to graze one third of the pasture but do not graze the other 2 thirds. Keep in mind the grass is bahia and consistant with plenty of grass.

Central Fl Cracker":gvkxzd3a said:
Okay keep in my mind I am new in the cattle biz..
I recently moved 50 cows and 3 bulls to a 135 ac. pasture I own. Before I moved them I crossed fence the pasture into + or - 30 ac. paddocks. They have been on one of these paddocks for a week and I will be Damned if they have not come close to grazing the whole 30 ac. they seem to graze one third of the pasture but do not graze the other 2 thirds. Keep in mind the grass is bahia and consistant with plenty of grass.

Yup. And I live in a better grass growing area than you - and I would not consider running that many animals on that small a pasture set up.

You need to be careful - not everyone can count on grass growing good every year.

You are a grass farmer who raises cattle - if you take a bit of hay off this pasture and stack it - you will do better in the long run.

Just my two cents.

Bez+

We've got 21 cows on about 25 acres right now and the grass is outgrowing them by far -- of course this year is not typical for NE Texas at all. June was the wettest since 1923!! July hasn't been much different -- we did have one week without rain to get the hay in, otherwise it's been raining.