red heifer calf

Help Support CattleToday:

rw77

Reaction score
hey everyone , I've been raising black Angus cattle for years and a couple months ago I went to the barn and a cow was giving birth , everything went well so I left and came back in a couple hours and this calf was a totally red heifer , I thought this was rare and googled red heifer and it seemed its quite rare , has anyone ever had one of these .

What was she bred to? Even if the bull was black he can be carrying a red recessive gene and she must be as well. I run primarily black cattle myself and tons of them carry a red gene - almost half I'd say.

What was she bred to? Even if the bull was black he can be carrying a red recessive gene and she must be as well. I run primarily black cattle myself and tons of them carry a red gene - almost half I'd say.

Here's how it works:
Red x Red:
100% progeny will be red (even if any red parent had a black parent)

Black Red Carrier x Red:
50% progeny will be red and 50% will be black. Reds will be pure red and blacks will all be red carriers.

Black (non red carrier) x Red
100% progeny will be black red carriers

Black Red Carrier x Black Red Carrier:
75% progeny will be black and 25% will be red. Of the blacks, two-thirds (or 50% of total progeny) will be red carriers, and one- third (or 25% of total progeny) will be non red carriers.

It took a long time here to breed all the black out. Only thing harder to get rid of is black noses. Still have some of those.

It took a long time here to breed all the black out. Only thing harder to get rid of is black noses. Still have some of those.
One of many things I appreciate is being able to occasionally incorporate worthy AAA bulls but you're spot on...eradicating the black color can be problematic. Don't mind the black noses & truth be told I'm rather fond of the often resultant ultra dark "points" on the otherwise red bulls.

76 Bar said:
Here's how it works:
Red x Red: