Record Keeping

Help Support CattleToday:

DCB4

Reaction score
One of my big goals for this year is to keep better records. I really want to be able to look back and see what each cow and calf has done, or hasn't done, analyze it and be able to make more informed decisions from there. I bought my herd about 3 years ago from my grandfather who kept no records whatsoever the last 6-8 years. I retagged every cow and currently keep a spreadsheet with the cows tag #, its calves tag#,and I do my best to record the birth date. I will also record vaccination dates, gender of calf and any other small notes I can think of. I'm shopping around for a scale to place somewhere in my working area and record weaning weights as well. I'd like to hear any other thoughts you guys have on what records you keep, wish you kept, or wish you'd have started keeping years ago.

I have been using Cattlemaxx online since 2011. It's makes looking up animals a lot faster, and the reports, and worksheets it can generate are pretty nice.
You can get a free trial on their website if you want to give a try.

I keep several binders for our cattle records. Since our cattle are registered, I organize the cows alphabetically by name and each one will eventually wind up with several pages of information over the course of her production career. I will write down information such as when they calved, birth weight, weaning weight, ear tag of calf, who they were bred to, and any health issues such as treated for hoof rot, pinkeye, etc.

Backbone Ranch said:
I keep several binders for our cattle records. Since our cattle are registered, I organize the cows alphabetically by name and each one will eventually wind up with several pages of information over the course of her production career. I will write down information such as when they calved, birth weight, weaning weight, ear tag of calf, who they were bred to, and any health issues such as treated for hoof rot, pinkeye, etc.