Preg Testing

Help Support CattleToday:

jmatt7

Reaction score
My teacher just set an asighnment where we have to finfd out how cattle are preg tested and ArtificialyInseminated and What Equipment is used. So How is it done and what equipment is used

Hi, jmatt. Welcome to the Boards! Sorry nobody has helped you out, yet. Afraid about all I can do to help you is tell you which end to work on. You're probably looking for more than that, huh? Maybe some of our AI experts can provide you with some good info or links. How 'bout it folks?

I'm no expert, but I've observed a couple times. First, we synchronized with Lutalyse. Upon observing standing heat, we called the technician, who came at the calculated time, invariably at night. Of course, he had a tank which keeps the semen frozen. I don't know the correct terms for the tools, but if I remember right, the straw was inserted through a tube which was inserted in the appropriate area. This was after he put on rubber glove and reached into the rectal area and pulled out gobs of poop, as the instrument had to be guided by feeling through the rectal area. Just getting a heifer in strong heat into my makeshift little chute that I had back then was a chore.

It has been awhile, so I may have forgotten some details. I tried to keep the description sanitary.

We were unsuccessful with AIing. I bought the Hazlett bull, who went to work checking out the girls as soon as he stepped out of the trailer after his three hour ride in the middle of July. Within two weeks they were all bred. No more getting up in the middle of night checking on the progress when I had to go work ten hours the next day. He followed them around the pasture tirelessly for two days leading up to the time they would actually come into heat. I guess he could tell they were fixing to. I agree with some of the oldtimers who say that a bull actually brings the cows into heat with his various procedures.