Plans to build a head gate??

Help Support CattleToday:

Billdevaul

Reaction score
I am new to cattle but i have 4 now and need a head gate and chute to handle em when i need to. i dont want to invest in one yet so cant one be built with lumber? if so anyone got any plans or a picture? thanks

Buy a head gate. It will be cheaper in the long run than one out of lumber. Just think what it will cost you if the first cridder in your brand new lumber head catch rips it out and kills it self with that thing around his neck. Or kills you or one of your kids.
Set some 6 x 6 steel post at least 4 foot deep and in concrete and bolt on a steel head gate. it just might save your life as well as saving your investment. And it won't cost you that much more.
head gate $250
steel post $30
bolts $10
concrete $15
total $305

you might save $100 bucks with lumber but sooner or later you will have to do it right.

get a couple things of steel pipe at your local junk yard for free! It'll save you an extra 30 bucks of making a head gate ;-)

I have seen plans in an old book at the library on homesteading or raising beef or something - and we have a very old (ruined) one in a pen a couple of miles away - but have never use it. I agree with the others, get a steel one. It will last forever and if you do decide to get out you can always sell it.

Buy one, it just might save your life as you will have a heartattack with all of the frustration of worrying with a homemade one. Work your way up. Buy a cheap one to start and then work your way up. Sometimes you can find a bent up one at a sale and if you can weld/fabricate you can patch it up. Been there and dun that.