Opinions on a bull

Help Support CattleToday:

jallen

Reaction score
I'm completely new to cattle. I have a very experienced person helping me with everything. I have 23 acres of very good clean grazing and I currently have 10 bred cows on it. The first one just calved a week ago and I'm looking to get a bull to run with them. I have one that is pretty local I have looked at but have no clue if it is a solid bull or not. The guy that is helping me is out of town for a few weeks so he can help when he gets back but I just wanted to start educating myself. I appreciate all of your help. Looking forward to being able to contribute to the forum some day. Have a good weekend everyone. I have attached a few pics of the bull, who knows if they will load. Forgot to mention, according to the seller he is a black angus bull that is not registered. Just turned 2 yrs old, I don't know weight. Asking $1400--he is a very calm and gentle animal from my time being around him.

http://i1322.photobucket.com/albums/u577/rowdyjuice/bth_bull2_zps23f66c62.png?t=1358543066

http://i1322.photobucket.com/albums/u577/rowdyjuice/bth_bull1_zps31911d3d.png?t=1358542964

http://i1322.photobucket.com/albums/u577/rowdyjuice/bth_bull_zpsd9dd75fe.png?t=1358543452

Thanks for the reply. He looks a little youngish to me as well. I wonder if he is two yet or not to be honest. The owner said he just turned two or either was about to. I'm not sure what happened with my pics. They all cut off for some reason.

He's probably not want you want in a herd bull. Half your genetics will come from whatever bull you use. A bull is probably something that you should not be afraid to invest in. I'm not saying break the bank, just look, and find a good one.