Older Bull question

Help Support CattleToday:

Ricker

Reaction score
Need some advice from you veteran cattle folks. I am a newbie as you know.

Today while I was out checking a weak area in the fencing, I witnessed something that has me wondering. Two neighboring bulls were very interested in my herd today and were staying away from their cows and sniffing over my fence toward mine. I assumed maybe one of my cows was in heat.

I have an older bull (over 7 yrs old) and as I was there today I observed him and a cow off alone while the others were grazing. She was acting very interested in him (I figured she was the one in heat), getting on the back of the bull, licking his face and neck, etc. She got on his back at least three times while I was there. It seemed to me like she was saying
"Here is what you do Mister!"

He seemed oblivous for a while then he decided to try it a few times. He did for a split second (got on her back) but had nothing to work with, it appeared to me. He went back to grazing but she was still interested and kept trying to get his attentions with the same behaviours as before.

We are getting rid of him before long anyway, but for future reference, would this behaviour necassarily mean he is getting too old and not able to breed? Seems like he woulda jumped at the chance for some cow action. Maybe all of this is just normal cattle acivity and I am reading too much into it.

Also, do cows in heat (or not in heat) get on the backs of bulls very often?

I am learning and enjoying the entire processes. I know this post may seem stupid to some of you but I guarantee there are some things I know about (ex. what time of year do red drum school up together in Florida, or how much does the average manatee weigh, etc.) that you have no clue on so go easy on me. :lol: