newbie questions

Help Support CattleToday:

jon

Reaction score
Hello All:
First off,I am a newbie to calving heifers and cows.
I have 5 heifers that are going to calve sometime in the next 30-60 days or so.
The are xbred heifers.
I have them on good clover,rye,and bermuda pasture. I also have mineral and salt out.
Is there anything else I should have out for them?
Also,a couple heifers are starting to get a bag but one heifer whos bag filled first now has her tits full. I assume this is a sign she might calve sooner than 30-60 days?The vet said she was around 7 months April 21st.
Any advice is apreciated.

Jon

heifers are always interesting to watch develop and guess when they'll calve. it will be a great learning experience for you.

in addition to all you have out for them you also need to have water out for them. (hey- you said you were a newbie!). the salt in my opinion is not needed but the minerals are.

check on them regularly and be ready to assist if needed. good luck.

(also if you dont have some sort of catchpen you might as well go ahead and build one now.)

Beefy":2bjad47i said:
heifers are always interesting to watch develop and guess when they'll calve. it will be a great learning experience for you.

in addition to all you have out for them you also need to have water out for them. (hey- you said you were a newbie!). the salt in my opinion is not needed but the minerals are.

(also if you dont have some sort of catchpen you might as well go ahead and build one now.)

A good set of chains for all those heifers wouldn't be a bad idea either.

I was also going to add having Beefy and Caustic near by to give you a hand when those legs first appear might be nice to have also :) .