New to Feeding Out a Steer - Lots of Questions

Help Support CattleToday:

Vannfe

Reaction score
1. I'm new to this (butchering a steer for the family) and I'm fixing to go the sale on Monday for my first calf. I've heard varying recommendations, but how much (whole, 1/2, or 1/4) of a steer would y'all recommend for a family of 2 (I have a growing teen and we have company/moochers :lol2: over frequently). I was thinking a 1/2, and then finding someone to split the other half with. The idea is for it to last us until we have another calf ready to slaughter. Do you think that will be enough or to much (1/2 steer)?

Which brings me to my next Q...
2. How old/weight (approx) should the calf that I get be to maximize my efforts? So I don't end up with one that's to young, or to old and paying for the extra that I really don't need to pay for now. I really don't want to be bucket feeding a youngin'. I want it ready to start on grass with maybe some grain. It'll be mostly grass fed til the last 90 days. It's also my understanding that since they're herd animals, getting 2 is better than 1. They(it) will be penned next to several horses. We live in the NM desert so I'll be feeding it hay/grass each day winter/spring/summer. Because of the rain this summer, most of our horse hay has all become cow hay, so I have plenty of it.

3. If I get 2, so they have company, how difficult is it to sell a finished out steer? Will I have to run it through the sale again, or just craigslist it? Will I need to send it to the butcher with my other one or just sell the whole thing live?

4. And how big of a pen would you recommend? We have 10 acres, but some of that is allotted for the horses, barn, house, etc. My ideas on pen size may be a bit small since I'm used to seeing the roping calves all penned together, all 30-40 of them.

Thank you!!!