New day calf but i don't like him

Help Support CattleToday:

alabama

Reaction score
This guy I just don't like but I can't put my finger on why. His sire is Boyd's new day whitch is a good sire but it did not work this time. He has grown and gained well but he did not shed out like the others.
What is it with this bull calf?
cattle2006049.jpg

alabama - I have liked a lot of cattle you have posted.... and I am not an expert... but on my eyes like you, he is just "not good enough" I think he lacks "a little bit" not quite long enough, just a little too leggy, just a little pinched, not quite enough bone.... there are many good points on him also.

I think Mitchwi was right on target. He just does not have that special feel to him. The calf has no major structural flaws that leap right out at you, he profiles well, and has a nice head; but I would like to see him thicker, with more muscle expression (especially deeper own the rear leg), and I especially would like more substance of bone. At THIS point he does not really look like a herd sire prospect. I would wait to see what he weighs at weaning though before taking out the knife though. You apparently dislike him a lot more than I do.

I don't like him either, New Day or not.

He looks like New Days do, when they don't have acccess to a feed wagon.

Good job, you'll sort the big, high input types out and quit using them.

mtnman

That not shedding out thing seems to be catching on around here. I've got two or maybe three that look similar - just not shedding off their shoulders mostly. They have all been worked in a similar fashion, same grass, same minerals, same vaccines. Anybody have an idea about this ? Maybe a way to get this hair off of them.

Bull Buyer,