new 4-h project

Help Support CattleToday:

longhornlover3498

Reaction score
so i am new to 4-h this year and i have some projects i would like to do with cattle. i'm going to do the breeding heifer and the market steer. i would also like to show my b. maximizer bull calf but i dont know if i can. my heifer calf was born in september and will wean in february. her mom is beaulah, a longhorn cow and dad is a black maximizer. she is black with a white star on her face and a white hoof. i havent found a meat steer yet as all of mine are bulls and are sold already. i wouldve liked to have shown one of mine though because my calves are extremly growthy. i need some advice though because i havent ever done this before.

In 4-H, a junior cannot show a bull unless it's under 6 months of age.
What kind of advice are you looking for? There should be a 4-H beef club in your area. Contact the local extension office & they will know.

thats too bad i guess i cant show him. i would like advice on how the animals should be handled and what would the best growing diet would be. also whats the most popular breed in 4-h besides angus?

Are you already in a 4-H club? If so, your 4-H extension agent and club manager would probably be the best people to talk to about your goals and what type or breed of cattle would be best for you to show. They will give you the resources and help in raising your project too.
It is very helpful if you have a mentor who can help you hands on.

This is the link to help you find your county 4-H info: http://www.4-h.org/get-involved/find-4-h-clubs-camps-programs/

Most popular breeds around here are Angus, Hereford & Simmental.
HALTER BREAKING CALVES without brute strength
Confine them.