Mineral intake

Help Support CattleToday:

nobull82

Reaction score
I've been feeding kent 365 ADE free choice for about 2 months now and cows seem to really like it, maybe alittle to much. The last bag I put out only lasted 3 days with 12 cows with 5 calves. And the bag before that last 1 week with the same cows but less calves. Why would they be going through it faster with every bag I put out? Do I need something else with it?

Perhaps try mixing some salt into it until you get the target recommended intake.. (are you feeding salt seperately?)

Some minerals are 2oz/hd/day, some are 4 oz/hd/day, but I haven't seen any that are a half pound a day per head. Perhaps there's something they like/need but in too small a quantity to satisfy them?

Some hay or grass silage have more mineral, some have less, the cows know what they need.
if there were not enoughmineral before it will take a while to "fill up" the cows, a few years later your land gets more minerals from your constant mineral feeding, and then the cattle will eat even less.

ANAZAZI":1m1qzafc said:
the cows know what they need.
I've always looked on that as a great fallacy. I cow doesn;t know what a mineral tastes like so how can they "know" what they need. They'll eat what they like. That's why salt is added to stuff as either an appetite enhancement (they'll eat more) or a limiter (they'll eat less).
If they really knew what the needed there wouldn;t be a problem getting them to eat magnesium to prevent grass tetany. Magnesium is bitter so the mineral companys add something palatable to hide it.

I'm with Dun on this,.. With phosphorus they know they're needing *something*.. and they'll just go chew on wood, rocks, bones, etc.. except for the bones, none are a great source of Phosphorus.. Cows just like the taste of salt, they usually eat far more than they need, but since it's cheap no one cares much. As for needing other minerals, I don't think they know much about what they're lacking