Millborn seeds any experience?

Help Support CattleToday:

BryanM

Reaction score
I am considering planting a hay field with the stockman from Millborn seed. Its a blend of alfalfa, tall fescue and orchard grass. My concern is and to be honest not sure it should be a concern, is planting out of a grain drill. This is a blend from my understanding 60% alf and 20% and 20% grasses. I am concerned that I will get uneven coverage of alf due to seed size. Does anybody ever deal with this concern. or is it even a concern? I have limited experience and looking for some advice.

I'd have concerns about the difference in size........but also about the timing. I planted RR alfalfa in mid May before and let that get up during the summer, even cut a bit of hay off, then drilled in the fescue/orchard grass in early fall..........works great in that order........in this West Tennessee area.

I would limit the amount of mix in the drill box at one time to cut down on the alfalfa possibly settling out.

I assume you are using the small drop seeder attached to the drill.

I add some oats or barley thru the grain box to minimize washing or wind damage. I take this off early as oats (and weed) baleage to minimize competition.

I fill the grass seed hopper only about a quarter full to start, and check a couple times at the start for plugging. Then I fill it about 3/4 full.

Packing before and after drop seeding will increase your catch greatly.

Herbicide can suppress weeds in your new seeding.

I am considering planting a hay field with the stockman from Millborn seed. Its a blend of alfalfa, tall fescue and orchard grass. My concern is and to be honest not sure it should be a concern, is planting out of a grain drill. This is a blend from my understanding 60% alf and 20% and 20% grasses. I am concerned that I will get uneven coverage of alf due to seed size. Does anybody ever deal with this concern. or is it even a concern? I have limited experience and looking for some advice.