Looking to get into cattle ranching

Help Support CattleToday:

easternkanfarmkid

Reaction score
I'm a high school age student living in eastern Kansas. I live on a small pig and chicken farm used to supplement our food costs. My grandpa own a 350 acre beef ranch. He is retired from the construction business and he does this now to supplement his social security, pension, 401k, etc. He is in his early 70's and I' m looking at either joining the IBEW or taking over the ranch. He has many pastures, 2 tractors, a bailer, stock trailer, a barn full of tools and such and other useful equipment that I have access to. He has about 40 head of cattle, mostly cows or heifers and a bull or two. I'm planning on eventually expanding the farm and start raising pigs, meat and laying hens, and rabbits. I want to market them as organic and sell them to the yuppies in the uppity county next door. I'm just wondering if this sounds like a sound, lucrative buisness plan. Any and all replies are appreciated. Also whats the average salary of a rancher with 40 head? I've gotten varying answers all over.

Too many unknowns to answer the question. Is he giving this to you or selling to you. By your description he could have anywhere from $100,000 to $200,000 of inventory. If he is using for extra income why would he give it away, my suggestion would be to talk to him and work out a business agreement, if you buy from him and he finances the project do not expect any profit , the money will all go into operation and paying off the note. :cboy:

Too many unknowns to answer the question. Is he giving this to you or selling to you. By your description he could have anywhere from $100,000 to $200,000 of inventory. If he is using for extra income why would he give it away, my suggestion would be to talk to him and work out a business agreement, if you buy from him and he finances the project do not expect any profit , the money will all go into operation and paying off the note. :cboy: