limping ?pregnant? cow

Help Support CattleToday:

enanette

Reaction score
2 nights ago I just recieved my 8 year old angus after visiting a bull from another pasture. I believe she must of stepped in a hole, she has a limp on her left front leg. I can not any hoof defomities, leg swelling, ect. She is eating & drinking well. I can NOT handle her, she is WILD. I am NEW in working with cattle & do not have a chute. I was wondering how many days should I observe her till I call a vet? If it is a sprain, how long will it take to heal on it's own & is there anything I can give her in her feed (safe for a pregnant cow)? Thanks for any suggestions!

enanette":344o5za9 said:
2 nights ago I just recieved my 8 year old angus after visiting a bull from another pasture. I believe she must of stepped in a hole, she has a limp on her left front leg. I can not any hoof defomities, leg swelling, ect. She is eating & drinking well. I can NOT handle her, she is WILD. I am NEW in working with cattle & do not have a chute. I was wondering how many days should I observe her till I call a vet? If it is a sprain, how long will it take to heal on it's own & is there anything I can give her in her feed (safe for a pregnant cow)? Thanks for any suggestions!

Give her a dozen or so aspririns once a day, that can help with any swelling or pain. Just dump them whole into her feed if you can give her a little grain on the side. You might be surprised how effective it is.

dun

enanette":rvyoe7w4 said:

No offense, but if you don't have a chute your vet is going to have a fun time working on her! :shock: :lol: