Late ?

Help Support CattleToday:

I guess I should stop worrying as she is only 5 days late but she is as big as a house and has had an udder now for a week She is notorious for calving right on her due date, so maybe it's the bull I used as I have never used him before.

hillsdown":38niq785 said:
I guess I should stop worrying as she is only 5 days late but she is as big as a house and has had an udder now for a week She is notorious for calving right on her due date, so maybe it's the bull I used as I have never used him before.

HD that old lady is probably just enjoying all the attention she's getting. ;-)

Shoot - Red Bull - you beat me, I was just going to post my latest one was 15 days & had a heifer (guaranteed AI date - no bull around except for "hubby" :banana: ) but she weighed 120# :shock: big cow - spit her right out.
Had our first live calf Monday - 1st calf heifer 7 days late, we assisted, but was easy pull, she just wouldn't get down to business. Now, waiting on 2 embryos - WERE due 1-17 - bummer!

Jeanne - Simme Valley":xpwcglkt said:
Shoot - Red Bull - you beat me, I was just going to post my latest one was 15 days & had a heifer (guaranteed AI date - no bull around except for "hubby" :banana: ) but she weighed 120# :shock: big cow - spit her right out.
Had our first live calf Monday - 1st calf heifer 7 days late, we assisted, but was easy pull, she just wouldn't get down to business. Now, waiting on 2 embryos - WERE due 1-17 - bummer!
So you just had your first live calf Mon., how many dead ones before you got the live one? :D

Had our first live calf Monday - 1st calf heifer 7 days late,

I wondered how the first one managed to be late - a couple bred ahead of the main season?
Usually I see a couple of rather small calves, two to three weeks ahead of the earliest due date.

ET - my vet has told me of huge calves born to embryo tansfer. Apparently failure to calve when expected is common.