Large boned vs moderate boned

Help Support CattleToday:

FB-Maines94

Reaction score
I'm still learning when it comes to cattle. My question is whether or not bone size dramatically affects calving. It seems logical that the larger the bones on the calf, the harder it is on the mama cow. However, I know some cattlemen like big-boned cattle for their ability to put on the pounds.

So big-boned or moderate boned? I don't think small-boned is optimal.

Big bone definitely impacts calving ease. Most mature cows should be able to handle a larger boned calf, but you wouldn't want to breed your heifers that way.

randiliana":2yhp5oy9 said:
Big bone definitely impacts calving ease. Most mature cows should be able to handle a larger boned calf, but you wouldn't want to breed your heifers that way.

Agreed

I have also been taught that big bones matter at the end when sending for meat. You want a beast that has more meat and less bones. Than cattle that are big boned and less meat.

Suzie Q":zfg7vp79 said:
I have also been taught that big bones matter at the end when sending for meat. You want a beast that has more meat and less bones. Than cattle that are big boned and less meat.

Yeah, I agree. The buyer is getting less meat for his money.

concerning big boned cattle, that is why the old style Charolais and old style semmental cattle in this area fell out of favor. They were big boned and they had hard calvings. Nowdays they are breeding them in the direction of moderate bone, and they are starting to make a small comeback.
Agreed on the meat /bone ratio also.
Looks impressive when a big boned animal crosses the scale, but the butcher wants to buy meat not bone and they know the difference.

It seems that no one that posted so far knows the difference between good bone and undesirable bone!?