keep open cows?

Help Support CattleToday:

kansasbeef

Reaction score
Vet pregchecked our 21 angus
3 were open
we sell all calves each year
Dad wants to keep these 3 open cows in case they are late or may get pregnant next year. We didn't pull the bull this fall from the herd (didnt have a field for him). I think keeping them is a mistake for $ reasons and I don't want fall calves. Any opinions on this as I need to talk him into selling them and replacing them with pregnant cows. Would be buying from the same guy we got our herd from. I'm new at this, but I don't see how they can make any $, and may make problems and extra work for me. I need to keep this profitable for my Dad.

Thank you!

kansasbeef":3s6vcfb6 said:
3 were open
Dad wants to keep these 3 open cows in case they are late or may get pregnant next year. We didn't pull the bull this fall from the herd (didnt have a field for him). I think keeping them is a mistake for $ reasons and I don't want fall calves. Any opinions on this as I need to talk him into selling them and replacing them with pregnant cows. Would be buying from the same guy we got our herd from. I'm new at this, but I don't see how they can make any $, and may make problems and extra work for me. I need to keep this profitable for my Dad.

Thank you!

It is your call. But I would give them one more try, and next year if the same 3 are open then cull them.

kansasbeef":2djfsl7g said:
3 were open

Thank you!

selling all three of them MIGHT get you enough to buy one cow. Keep them and breed them and sell them afterwards if your dead set on selling them and not having fall calves. The dollars are towards keeping open cows right now instead of selling them.

kansasbeef":ig4j8vl4 said:
3 were open

Thank you!

Depends on how much hay you've got on hand, how much it costs to feed them through the winter and whether you will have plenty of "Free" grass next summer.

If you are pushed for resources I'd say sell them.