IGR and dung beatles

Help Support CattleToday:

kenny thomas

Reaction score
Bought 20 bags of mineral Friday with IGR for some fly control. I have never used it before. While reading the label today it says for control of dung dwelling insects. Will this kill the dung beatles. If so I am taking it back. I have a good supply of dung beatles and don't want to kill them.

kenny thomas":1jq34yy4 said:
Bought 20 bags of mineral Friday with IGR for some fly control. I have never used it before. While reading the label today it says for control of dung dwelling insects. Will this kill the dung beatles. If so I am taking it back. I have a good supply of dung beatles and don't want to kill them.

Used it all last summer. Didn't do much to the beetles.

Of course it didn't do shyt for the fly's either.

I went to a seminar put n by one of the mineral companys and they claimed that Alosid is specific and doesn;t affect dung beetles. Don;t know how accuarte that is since we haven;t had dung beetles around here in years and years

dun":1924jgos said:
I went to a seminar put n by one of the mineral companys and they claimed that Alosid is specific and doesn;t affect dung beetles. Don;t know how accuarte that is since we haven;t had dung beetles around here in years and years

"Dung beetle friendly" as the company says.

3way...if you'd quit spoon feeding mineral and let them have the recommended dose you'd see good results.....(tight wad). :lol2:

IGR only gets one fly and that is (I believe)the horn fly and it does not get the other types of flies. I have better luck with cow rubs

IL cow man":u1wqupfq said:
IGR only gets one fly and that is (I believe)the horn fly and it does not get the other types of flies. I have better luck with cow rubs
It'll get the face flies too IF they lay their eggs in the manure containing the IGR. Regardless nothing is 100% effective. Rubs "help" but only come in contact with a small part of the body.