How to maintain grass

Help Support CattleToday:

south0085

Reaction score
I just got my first two calves (ever) on June 1st. They are doing great and I am learning so much as a new (hobby) cattle farmer. My question is in regards to the grass in the lot they are in. I see that they are eating the grass well. But they leave certain parts of it alone. And it's growing taller and taller than the other parts. Should I periodically bush hog the lot? Should I get rid of certain weeds? Should I overseed? Thank you for any insight.

Ideally you want to get rid of all weeds, not just certain weeds. As CB said, we're grass farmers, and just using cattle to harvest it. Learn as much as you can about the various types of grass and broad leaf plants in your area so you can identify them. I define weed as a undesirable plant. Some grasses can be weeds, and not all broad leaf plants are weeds.

I'm new to this also. Learned that cattle don't like broom grass even though it looks like something a cow would eat. Haven't figured out what to do about this yet :)

pdubdo said:
I'm new to this also. Learned that cattle don't like broom grass even though it looks like something a cow would eat. Haven't figured out what to do about this yet :)