How does he look

Help Support CattleToday:

Hardin Farms

Reaction score
What do you see? I am a novice at looking at cattle. I'd like to learn what to look for in a bull.

This is a 3 yo bull kept back out of a cow we bought from a purebred sale 14 years ago. She's 16 now and I'm afraid this year will be her last calf. He is from a registered bull that we ran for 5 or 6 years and was really pleased with the growth from his calves. I kept this bull back simply because his sire produced the kind of heifer I like and his dam has always been an easy keeper. She has always weaned some of the heaviest calves on the hill.

No grain, just cheap mixed grass hay.

Attachments

• LH 1.jpg
    LH 1.jpg
    357.4 KB · Views: 29
  • LH 2.jpg
    LH 2.jpg
    338.2 KB · Views: 25
  • LH 3.jpg
    LH 3.jpg
    378.1 KB · Views: 31
  • LH 4.jpg
    LH 4.jpg
    356.3 KB · Views: 34
  • LH 5.jpg
    LH 5.jpg
    369 KB · Views: 33
  • LH 6.jpg
    LH 6.jpg
    369.9 KB · Views: 33
What do you see? I am a novice at looking at cattle. I'd like to learn what to look for in a bull.

This is a 3 yo bull kept back out of a cow we bought from a purebred sale 14 years ago. She's 16 now and I'm afraid this year will be her last calf. He is from a registered bull that we ran for 5 or 6 years and was really pleased with the growth from his calves. I kept this bull back simply because his sire produced the kind of heifer I like and his dam has always been an easy keeper. She has always weaned some of the heaviest calves on the hill.

No grain, just cheap mixed grass hay.
Has he sired any calves for you yet? He is a good looking bull. You know his sire and dam, and were pleased with the calves his sire produced, and the calves his momma produced. Did you have any other calves out of his momma by his sire? If so, how did they work for you? There are a lot of positives in the "keep him" column. You could spend thousands of dollars for another bull, and dunno if it would be any better.