hip problem

Help Support CattleToday:

peanut

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the cattle business and I need some help please. A cow has been injured from being bred by a bull. She is having problems walking. When she gets up, she is favoring her right leg, and when she does step, she is dragging that leg and trying not to put any weight on it. She has been this way for 4 days. She has been given shots of antibiotics. She will get up to eat grain, and will take about 6 steps and will lay back down. Is this something that will take more time to heal, or should I have a vet come out and check her? Thanks!!

Yes ~ is something you should have the vet come out and check. Antibiotics will not help in this case. It is an injury, not an infection. She should have a shot of anti inflammatory to reduce swelling and ease her pain. If you give her shot of anti inflammatory, put her in a pen where her excercise is limited. Sometimes they get so that they can't feel the pain so much due to shot and they abuse/overuse the leg. Makes the injury worse. If she is with other cattle she should be seperated as well ~ they push and shove and could make injury worse.
But yes, she should be seen by a vet. She needs her legs.
Good Luck!

How could I get her up to the barn? Try to get her into the cattle trailer? She could not walk that far to the barn.

Ah, that is a problem.....