highlander sweating

Help Support CattleToday:

gbowman

Reaction score
I am new to keeping cattle and have a small herd of highlanders which I plan to bread from and show. As a not very knowledgable novice every slight apparent problem is of unreasonable concern. most situations clear themselves. my latest concern is that i have a two year old heiffer who appears to be sweating - has a damp coat- and laboured breathing just like I would be if I had flu. any comments

My cow does the same thing-- I was worried about pnuemonia also.I took her temperature, it was normal. I called the Vet he said to give her antibiotics, but I decided to wait a day or two. She has been fine, it's been a month or so. it is kind of normal to be extra-sensitive at first with new critters.
Have you taken her temperature? Don't forget to tie a string in the thermometer so it won't get sucked in. :)
BTW I've decided that my cow just is a heavy eater and she will break into a sweat trying to get all that grass into her face. But this may not be the case for your cow, just my experience-
Keep us posted-
Susie

susie":z045lea8 said:
Don't forget to tie a string in the thermometer so it won't get sucked in. :)
Susie

I've always had more of a problem with it getting squirted out and breaking on the ground. If I'm not going to stand right there I have a fever stick with a string and an alligator clip on it. I clip it to the hair on the tail head. I don;t understand why those things have gotten so pricey the last couple of years but can't afford to break them anymore.

dun