Help/

Help Support CattleToday:

newmcdonald

Reaction score
hey everyone! I'm pretty new to farming/ranching etc.(as you can tell by the name) :oops: I would like to purchase a calf and eventually have it slaughtered for beef. My grandparents had cows when I was a child so I know a little bout them, but still very little seeing that now I'm quite a bit older. Is there any specific breed of beefcow that I should purchase? I also plan on raising some pigs also for slaughter eventually. I have aot of questions about these subjects so any tidbits or links or other types of information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :D :D

As someone else will be sure to point out, this is my opinion:
For an all-round combination of beef quality, efficiency, and gentleness, it will be hard to beat a Hereford. My second choice would be an Angus of either color, and third Shorthorn. Of course many breeds will work if fed properly. I would tend to think that you are too far North for the Brahman influence to work for you very well. Herefordbeef.org is a good website. Good luck!

Thanks for the info GWH. Plus, whats the usual cost for a calf? I thought maybe the stock show here would be a good idea, but most of the ones there are show an are several thousand dollars. LOL I swear, I have around 1800 questions about all of this since I'm gonna be a first timer at this. Luckly, there is the internet and smart ppl like you guys to take pitty on me! LOL

Most beef calves are sold after weaning. That means they will weigh anywhere from 400 - 800#. Feeders are bringing $1+ at most markets. I raise Simmentals, so of course I think that would be a good steer to finish out. But, any really good muscled healthy steer should work for you. MOST of the flavor/tenderness comes from how they are fed & raised.