Heifer Finishing

Help Support CattleToday:

MadRanchTX

Reaction score
Hello All, 1st post.
I'm new to this but am having fun learning. Got tired of living in the suburbs so 1 1/2 years ago I bought a small farm just west of Ft. Worth,TX and purchased 8 just weaned black angus heifers. I am planning on finishing 1 of the them for slaughter and breeding the rest. I am looking for suggestions on a finishing program. The girls have been on grass, hay, minerals, and the occasional bag of cubes to keep them friendly. Economical would be best but in the end I'm looking for a tasty steak!

Thanks for any suggestions.

Hey MadRanch,

I am new also. how much does the heifer weigh? will you have to grow out first or are you ready to finish now?

MadRanchTX":3lig6hcc said:
I bought a small farm just west of Ft. Worth,TX and purchased 8 just weaned black angus heifers.

We must be neighbors. I'm in Hood County.

For freezer beer, I like a feed called baby beef for the final finish. Can't find it any more around here

As Jerry said, feed about 2.5% of her body weight in grain (make the mixture about 65 to 70% corn) for 65 to 75 days.

BC":1ps1ip9w said:
As Jerry said, feed about 2.5% of her body weight in grain (make the mixture about 65 to 70% corn) for 65 to 75 days.

Assuming this heifer weighs 1300 lbs, 2.5% of her body weight is 32.5 lbs of grain a day. If she is not used to grain, that amount could very well cause a good case of acidosis. I believe I would start out at 1% of her body weight, and increase it by a couple of pounds every week. That way her rumen has a chance to build up the flora needed to digest the grain. Better safe than sorry. Acidosis can be a bit difficult to pull them out of, can set them back quite a bit, and it can also kill them.

msscamp":3rjnn7yr said:
BC":3rjnn7yr said: