Healthy Calf having trouble sucking.

Help Support CattleToday:

B&N

Reaction score
Husband brought home calf(2months old? or maybe just big baby) weighed 115 lbs down to 105 lbs from sale barn 3/18/08. Full of spunk. Gave him Bio-Mycin 200 (just in case). Problem.... Calf won't take the bottle. Seems to have trouble with the sucking part. Thought we found a cow to put him on but no call back yet. We have been trying out best. Probably get 2 quarts a day down him. He does eat grain and drink some water. Tried electroylytes and didn't like at all. Tried bucket feeding but not real interested. His tongue appears slightly larger than normally but not much. Gave him vitamin B yesterday. Any other suggestions? Calf is urinating fine. Appears constipated some ( we attibute this to lack of milk). This is first calf we have had that wouldn't suck. For me I am a newbie (only raised 10 -12 calves) but my husband's family has raised cattle for years.

Sounds like you are doing it right, some calves are just stuborn. Patience is the key word. Try putting a spoon full of sugar in its mouth then the bottle right after. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Try putting the nipple in with your finger just below and play with the tongue. I have enlarged the hole on some. If it is getting 2 quarts and a little feed it may be all it needs. You may just try feed with some milk in it. Or maybe it will drink the milk strait from a bucket.
Good luck.