Got my cows

Help Support CattleToday:

Zelda

Reaction score
Well, I aquired a herd of 12 murray grey cows. They all have calved already, I bought their calves too. Someone had to get rid of the herd in a hurry, so I got'em for a good price. I wanted to buy ones that had just calved, because I wanted to avoid dealing with calving while I'm a beginner. They're pretty animals, that's for sure. My dog, Bandit, has never seen cattle before and kept barking at them. After he learned what they were, he decided to "mark" one of the calves...Momma cow didn't like that at all..don't think he'll bother any of those calves again. The animals are all sleeping in the barn now. I laid out fresh hay for them.

Any advice with my cows? I don't want to do anything wrong.

congrats on your new cows.hope you have them in a pen till they get used to you an their new home.can they get to water in the barn.

Congratulations, I think you'll like the MGs, I do, although I don't own any of them. Did you get a good deal on them? Post us some pictures of them if you can.

Leave Bandit at home.

Trey

Wish I could post pics, digital camera's broke and not worth fixing. I don't use it all that much anyhow. Yes the cows can get to water in the barn. Bandit is a terrier, I like to keep him around because he keeps the wild rats and mice away. It's one thing to breed rodents for snake food, it's another to have wild rats carrying who-knows-what-diseases around my animals. I'm allergic to cats...so don't even suggest cats.

That said, there isn't a big rodent problem around here. Bandit's marking (yeah, he's neutered and he still likes to mark buildings) keeps them away I guess. But I'll keep him away from the cattle.

Congratulations on your herd, Zelda!

A few things to consider: