Good Deal?

Help Support CattleToday:

tim1970

Reaction score
I will start off by saying I am very new to raising cattle. For the past 2 years, I have been buying steers, and raising them for my freezer. My neighbor is needing to reduce his heard, and is offering to sell me 2 of his commercial cows. One is a brangus, and I am not sure of the other. ( He will be putting them in his corral this week to work them, so I will see them then). They have their 3rd calf on the ground right now, and are approx. 5 - 6 months bred. He assured me that both of them can calf without any problems. He offered to sell me both cows, along with their calves for $2K. He also told me, that every year he would let one of his bulls "roam" on to my property for about a month. He said he would sell me any 2 of the cows that I wanted from his heard that is going to market, but he would recomend the 2 above, because of age,calving ability and ease to work with.

Understand, I am not wanting to build up a money making heard. All I want is to supply beef to my family, and pay for feed costs. I don't have that much land, so I will never have more than 2 or 3 cows at one time.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

Fat cows are bringing around 50 cents. So if the Brangus cow weighs 1200 she is worth 600. If she is 5 - 6 months bread means the calf is at least 6-7 month old and should weigh maybe 475 - 550. Run thru auction you'd get around $500 for them. Sounds like a deal to me.

I agree; it does sound like a good deal. My only question would be the cow's age. Are their teeth good? But it sounds like he's giving you a fair deal and willing to help by loaning you the bull.

I would think a better deal for you, given your goal, would be to buy steers from your neighbor and let the cows be. At least if you buy your steers from a known source, they are likely to be more healthy and you are more likely to be satisfied.