? foundering

Help Support CattleToday:

morecows

Reaction score
lost one of the cafes last week. The guy I bought the place from said he got in with the pigs and got in to the feed.He raised this calf on the bottle and its maybe been thirty days off. Found him last night w/ the buzzards. I dont know what foundering means? The old man says this is what killed him. One of my concerns are the mother died at about four years old, the previous owner said the moma cow maybe died from a snake bite ! The bull died at 5 years old, He didnt know why.

My question is what is foundering ?
Could eating too much Kill the calf ?
Could something else be wrong ?

This may be some dumb questions ,Im new at raising cattle !

Foundering happens to horses more so than cattle, but it does happen. I'm not a good one to answer this because I don't know the technical terms/reasons for foundering. If an animal has an ABRUPT change in diet - example 1 -horse that's been on hay & grain and turned out on LUSH green spring grass can deffinately founder. example 2 - all of a sudden start feeding high quality alfalfa hay, they can founder. They can die or be permanently crippled.
A little harder to founder a bovine, but same principal. When they "founder", their system produces too much of something & they can die or it will set up a fever in their feet. This in turn damages something in the growth of the foot, and they will always have bad feet - the hoof grows way too fast & curls up causing them to be lame for the rest of their lives, needing constant hoof care. (poor explaination, but basic)
But, ABRUPT change in cattle diet, can also cause them to bloat & die.
Without an autopsy, you can only guess.

"Foundering" is actually a result of overeating, not a disease itself.