Fescue Hay Question

Help Support CattleToday:

Isomade

Reaction score
We don't have fescue here so I have no experience with it. Being out of hay and in a drought I am looking at all options. I found some Fescue hay in Mossouri. 5x6 bales that they claim to weigh 1400#. I know cattle from the south can starve to death on fescue if they aren't used to it. Do I have the same worry with hay?

If the fescue was cut before going to seed in the dough stage it will be good hay.If it has been cut after taking the seed off, or late in june or later the quality is poor.

If your cows aren;t adapted to it, even as hay, fescue should be your last resort. You can feed it, but I would make sure a good quality mineral with CTC was available and would keep a real close eye on them for problems from heat.

Hi magnesium mineral loose free choice will help you with the toxicity from the fescue endophyte. I have heard that 30 days prior to feeding fescue is what is needed to get adequate levels in the cows. Not an expert just regurgitating information Ihave read and been told by others who have seen this issue before.

hillbillycwo":fd5qomr1 said:
Hi magnesium mineral loose free choice will help you with the toxicity from the fescue endophyte. I have heard that 30 days prior to feeding fescue is what is needed to get adequate levels in the cows. Not an expert just regurgitating information Ihave read and been told by others who have seen this issue before.
I've never heard of feeding high mag to counteract the endophyte. With it being so prevelent you would think that people like Jim Gerrish would know about it and he has never mentioned it. We just do high mag for grass tetany

We feed minerals with CTC to somewhat help (I think) with the tendency for animals being poisoned to be suceptible to toher malodys

Iso,
hillrancher hit it pretty well.
Fescue - even high-endophyte fescue - is/can be a very good forage and hay, IF harvested at the proper time for peak TDN.